Technological frusterations

Back to another book I’ve been reading, the Powers book, ‘Hamlet’s Blackberry: Building a good life in the digital age’.  The 3rd chapter starts with a story about the author moving to Cape Cod, buying a boat, and subsequently falling out of the boat, killing his phone. The author remarks that “society is constantly throwing up obstacles, telling us that we’re worthless without the crowd, that everything is riding on its approval” (pg.42). Which I personally find hilarious, because it goes directly against one of my five long-standing life-mantras: “none of that really matters”. As I read on about the authors many years of technological frustrations with limited connectivity, it suddenly made sense to me that we must be from different age-groups.
Phones and computers became really reliably popular when I was in high school, so I’ve never been without them, and I now take them for granted. I’ve mentioned before that my cell-phone has always been a leash, and I could go hours and days without it, because I know it’ll be there when I get back. But the author of this book seems to go through this same action with a great pain.
The author rambles on-and-on about ‘needing to  be connected’ for so much of his life, and as I’m reading it, I realize that I’ve recently ridiculed people who have said similar things. “The internet isn’t going anywhere… but the sunlight sure is”, I would say. This chapter seems to be ‘preaching the choir’.
The chapter continues with the illusion of workplace efficiency, and how all the new technology decreases employee productivity, and ends with a pitch about “Isolation Vacations”, where you surrender your technology to the hotel for a week. This vacation strategy seems ideal for people with not enough  will-power to put the phone down for themselves.

Leave a Reply

