Tech dependence and Cell Phone addiction

I’m probably the only person in the tech-hub silicon valley who, for practicality reasons, resists the idea of putting everything onto a smartphone. I realize that it’s pretty cool that you can access all data from it, that you can control your house lights, and banking, and door locks, and  everything you’ve ever auto-saved onto the cloud. But at the end of the day, it is a delicate phone, and it has many physical limitations; and it just seems insane to me to make something so frail THIS essential to my ability to function in daily life.

I once dated a guy who was obsessed with having a Tech-House.  He spent thousands on web linked cameras that he could access from his phone, and Hue smart lights, that had programmable color change settings; blue-tooth smart locks, that unlocked the front door when your phone was near, and motion sensors that digitally notes which rooms were entered at what times, and then text-alerts him if he is not home.
All This is based on the idea that our phones are fully functional, and in our possession at all times.
Once, he was blackout drunk unconscious on the couch, and he had left all the house lights on. I was Unable to navigate his phone to open the App to turn them off, so I simply unplugged the lights.      The next day, he asked how I was able to do it. I told him, and he chuckled, As If it wasn’t a dire inadequacy with this whole smart-house system. His tech-bro-meat-head couldn’t comprehend how impractical having lights that ONLY he could control by phone was.

I wrote something last week about how ‘intangible’ things are getting; everything is viewable on our phones, but not tangible. And the feedback I got was from people realizing that CDs were obsolete technology. People no longer buy or burn physical disks to enjoy in their cars or share with friends. They have MP3 players, in their phones. Everything is in our phones.
All this ties back into how I feel about Smart Phones.  What happens if it breaks?  Or gets stolen? Or the battery dies?
We depended on this single piece of technology for everything.  It’s our camera, our map, our radio, our communicator, our address book, our lifeline, our key, our games, our light-switch, and so much more..  Is it wise to put so much expectation onto something that can be neutralized by the common elements?

For security reasons, my office doesn’t allow cameras (like the ones on our phones) in any of the rooms where confidential information is being kept, OR near the computers that can access them.  So, I’ve grown accustomed to not having my phone on me during main work-week hours; Only to discover that I don’t miss it, and now I’m quite cautious about what I use it for, knowing that I won’t always have access to it.
Yesterday, someone socially said that they’d send me something so that I could have it on my phone.   I told them that I don’t rely on my phone, and would prefer it by alternate means. They tried to convince me otherwise, and insisted that they have no other means of getting it to me. And the amazing part of the conversation, was that they were serious. It took them several minutes before they remembered a variety of [established 10-year-old] transfer methods that were compatible with their current new tech set up.
The millennial techies are so quick to move forward, that they forget how things used to be just a few years ago.
& Generation Z might be totally useless without their tech.

Leave a Reply

