Fantasizing is easier than Compromising

I know a lot of people whom I would classify as ‘dreamers’. People who fantasize about  scenarios where good things would happen for them, but who make no real personal effort towards attaining those things.  People who have a lot of unearned confidence, and are really good at persuasively speaking about their plans.           Or are just mistaken about where skills/experience comes from.
I’m sure we all know at least one person who talks at length about their desire to Do Something, and constantly spews forth more and more declarations, like a babbling fountain. Usually along the lines of  being stuck in a transitional step, having started something and not been able to plan an ending.
‘I’m doing this, but haven’t been able to get that’, or ‘I’m going, but am waiting for this’.
People who want something, but aren’t ready to take any tiny steps towards their goals.

I’ve been friends with a married couple for several years, and something that I’ve noticed about them is that they have a lot of unearned confidence.  They aren’t impressive, they’re just average people, who happen to be really good at talking about their plans, which they haven’t started working on because of their own poor planning skills.
I understand the theory of verbalizing personal objectives, as a kind of fake it till you make it strategy. But, I have always been discreet with my planning, and I was becoming  tired of hearing again and again about how they are about to  get their act together, renovate their condo, and start a family.   So I pressed them to truly commit to their plans.
-I ask if they’ll start construction while they’re away on vacation.  They say, no, they haven’t the money to start yet.
With 2 incomes, I ask what they’re spending their money on. They say, things like going out with friends and hobby stuff.
I point out that they should really be financially prepping for their future baby. And I ask, if they’re interested in earning some extra money for their renovation, by renting out their condo while they’re away. They say, no, because they haven’t the time to clean it.
I say, that they’ll have to clean it anyway when they renovate it. They agree, but still don’t want to do it.
So,  it seems that their inability to plan hasn’t stopped them from fantasizing about having plans.

Leave a comment