Dating in the Pandemic Era

After a full year of social isolation, I finally hit my personal limit and downloaded a dating app.  I have never before in my life used a dating app, and was apprehensive about meeting people on the internet. But with the pandemic shut-down now spanning a full year, there’s just no other place to meet people.
 In years past, I met people at some social event, and had a casual conversation with them before deciding if I would even consider sharing a 45-minute meal with them. So picking someone based off a few photos was new, and scary.
There was nothing wrong with most of them. They were employed and healthy looking, and seemed to have a fulfilling life. But I couldn’t bring myself to pull the trigger and talk with any of them.  I’d eliminate them for any number of reasons; if I did not appreciate their hobbies, or if their photos seemed outdated, or if they seemed too young.
 Upon further reflection,  I could’ve just as easily agreed to all, and ghosted them after a few questions.  So what was I really afraid of?
It’s nice to know that someone would go on a date with me. But I can’t shake the feeling that I don’t really know these people. What if they’re terrible? Or what if they’re just average, and I lose interest?
Is there an appropriate way to inform an internet date that you’re just not feeling it?
How long should I talk with them before agreeing to meet?  And what are the chances that they’re profile is an honest and true reflection of their personality?
As someone who is slow to trust, the whole process has given me a great deal of personal anxiety.

Leave a comment